Self Sacfrice of Self Control at Eternal Odds

I am working on sermon for Sunday from Romans 12 (I jumped ahead in the lection, like reading the end of the book).  Anyway, I am thinking how hard it is to offer ourselves as living sacrifices because we are more conformed by the external and than internally transformed.  Besides, the ego doesn’t trust change; it will resist any thought that interrupts the status quo.

So, when I started to think about what condition my condition was in I thought how every one of us struggle when faced with the choice of: “Will I offer love and lose control?” or “Will I stay in control and love less?”   The fear of being misunderstood or rejected is strong in this eternal battle between sacrificial love and self control. I cognitively know a life given away is the way to receive life back at its fullest.  Often, I resist going to that place because I cannot speak the language of self sacrifice, nor am I well acquainted with the people of this culture.

I was comforted and disturbed by the words of a citizen of the land of self-sacrifice-St. Francis of Assisi.  He pushed my message a little further down the road of preparation when I read again from his “Letters to Rulers of People”.  He wrote: “Keep a clear eye toward life’s end.  Do not forget your purpose and destiny as God’s creature.  What you are in his sight is what you are and nothing more.  Remember that when you leave this earth, you can take nothing that you have received, but only what you have given: a full heart enriched by honest service, love, sacrifice and courage.”

Back to the keyboard to work on myself and my sermon so more.

Published in: on May 18, 2011 at 4:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rustyrev.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/self-sacfrice-of-self-control-at-eternal-odds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

