Saints are Made not Born!

I have been thinking through this season how saints are not paragons of virtue.  I am starting to pay attention to their imperfect lives; their odd and quirky ways.  Most saints are real characters, which gives me hope.  James and John were constantly jockeying for power next to Jesus.  All the disciples denied Jesus in his moment of need, most famously Peter.  Jesus restored them to leadership of the church in his name.  We call them saints because Jesus gave them time.  I pray I can give others and myself the same grace of time to develop the character of saints.

So, we speak of saints becoming something other than what we consider normal; something they weren’t when they were born.  This says something to me about how we develop a second nature, a Christ like nature.  A nature that begins when we are born anew and then mature as we grow up by using well practiced kingdom come behaviors.

I am thinking about persevering until I get it right.  I am working on doing the little things, so when the big moment comes, if it ever does, I may do the right thing-like love neighbor as myself or even love on an enemy.  In that sense, saints are made, not born.

Published in: on November 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rustyrev.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/saints-are-made-not-born/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Love your words….I find them encouraging and inspiring!


Leave a Reply

